True Love is Hard Work

I’m finally understanding that real love is messy, vulnerable, and requires a lot of patience–but it’s worth every struggle.

Cristina Rojas
5 min readJan 7, 2023
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

We’ve been deceived.

We’ve been betrayed.

We’ve been lied to.

And no, I don’t mean in some past dark episodes of our dating life. No.

I’m referring to an even darker reality.

We’ve been lied to about love–over and over again.

Movies portraying a love so pure that means no tears, no awkward silences, no uncomfortableness.

Music singing about two souls that magically go together like a sunrise on the beach, or the northern lights in a winter Finnish sky.

Don’t get me wrong, love is a fabulous thing, and I truly believe humans are meant to live it, experience it, and be it. But, I think we’ve been lied to.

Love doesn’t just magically happen–it isn’t easy.

Love doesn’t mean that there are no fights, no miss understatements, or traumas triggered.

Love is truly the hardest work you’ll ever do in your life–but the sweat, tears, and roasted heart are truly worth it.

--

--

Cristina Rojas

Certified Yoga Teacher. Talks about: yoga, mental health, business and science. Join my substack: https://mindfulmessbycristinarojas.substack.com/